Keep Calm…we’re going to Vegas

When I’ve told people that I’m planning a trip to Las Vegas, some of them respond by saying they find it odd that I would want to go there. Because I’m not into the party scene. I have an aversion to crowds. And because I’m often in bed by ten p.m. I have an aversion to late nights because I get up early in the morning.

The last time we toyed with the idea of heading out there, it fell through. We took a cruise instead. Apparently I don’t have an aversion to luxury cruise ships, fine dining, and falling asleep to the gentle sway of a boat out on the ocean. And frankly, Vegas doesn’t really sound like a place I’d want to go.

But it came up again. My husband texted me at work and asked me if I was interested in attending a conference in Vegas in the spring. For a multitude of reasons, I’m not interested in the conference. The thought of traveling though…yep. Sign me up please. This year and last year both, I noticed that as soon as the New Year hit, I was itching to take a trip.

So we’ve started doing some planning. Minimal planning because you know how I hate putting a ton of work into the whole agenda thing. First, he started looking at hotel rates. Then we got the kids on board for the trip. There was nothing to that. My kids part gypsy. They come by it honestly.

Finally, my husband decided some educational videos might be beneficial. I mean, as parents, aren’t all things potential opportunities for teaching the young ones? He fired up the television and streamed Chevy Chase: Vegas Vacation. Now, do I expect there will be tons of gambling, the daughter dancing in a cage, or either of our boys winning at the slot machines? No. I think not.

There will likely be time spent at the pool and the buffets. We’ll probably do some exploring and even some responsible gambling. And there will definitely be some family time as the kids get to check another state off their list and get out of school for a couple days. Hubby has talked about renewing our vows in a ridiculously silly way, which I’m up for. Though not if he plans to do it via the Denny’s menu that he told me about the other night. Sorry…I’m all for fun and silly, but I’m not a Denny’s fan.  You never know though, I might get a hankering for some pancakes and decide to say “I do” all over again while I sip my morning coffee.

I do know that whatever we do in Vegas, we’ll be dressed for the occasion. A little online shopping yesterday has gotten me in the mood for a night out on the town.  Okay, who am I kidding. What I really want to do when we get to Vegas is be belly up to an all-you-can-eat seafood buffet. Like the Crab Corner or The Boiling Crab. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Whatever happens there, I’ll be sure to tell you all about it. Unless they make me sign something saying I won’t. You know, the whole “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” rule. Either way, you can bet I’ll have on a little black dress, gorgeous heels, and may or may not be getting married in an Elvis themed chapel.

Have you been to Vegas? What’s your story? I’m all ears…

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm…we’re going to Vegas

  1. Pingback: Experience Fremont | the traveler's journey

  2. Pingback: the art of miniature golf & travel traditions | the traveler's journey

Leave a Reply

